Surf’s Up

Surf's Up cakeFor my dad’s 60th birthday I made a beach themed cake and cupcakes. The bottom layer of the cake is, what my kids call, a Papa Cake. They named this delicious cake after my dad because it is very rich and chocolaty, which is his kind of dessert. It is a chocolate cake with chocolate chips mixed into the batter. The frosting is made from melted chocolate chips and butter blended with powdered sugar and milk. I used chocolate cookies of varying lengths to make a bamboo fence. I also used the cookies for tree trunks.

The flowers at the bottom, the palm tree leaves and the surf boards are all made of gum paste. I frosted the ocean and wave with buttercream and then added some graham cracker crumbs for sand.

My daughter painted the designs on the surfboards. She used clear vanilla extract mixed with a tiny bit of frosting tint. She did a great job!

Painting designs on surfboards for Papa's cake

Painting designs on surfboards for Papa’s cake!

Surf's Up cupcakes!

Surf’s Up cupcakes!

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on April 15, 2015, in baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You did another wonderful creative cake for Randy. We love having you make our cakes😄

Leave a Reply

