It’s Not Easy Being Green

Since The Muppet Movie came out this year, my daughter decided to feature Kermit at her sixth birthday party.  We came up with a fun two-tiered cake design that would be similar in structure to cakes I have made in the past.  Unfortunately, my over confidence did not serve me well.

 

I baked the cakes and started stacking the way I always do.  I covered the bottom tier with white fondant, then covered the top tier before stacking the two cakes.  As the cakes sat on the table, I noticed that they were looking a little strange.  The bottom cake was bulging on the sides and the top cake was looking less and less stable as time passed.  I tried smoothing the fondant and shifting the top tier, but after a couple of hours it was obvious that the cake was not going to make it.

I was able to salvage the top tier with Kermit, so I was very happy about that.  I made Kermit out of colored fondant and applied him to the top with a small amount of water.  This became the pretty cake for pictures.  The bottom tier was saved for serving, but not pictures.  I was able to pull the fondant off and re-frost the cake so it was presentable and edible!

I also made some cupcakes to help feed the masses at the party.  I made a few frogs and pigs for the cupcake tree, but the rest had vanilla buttercream frosting with pink or green sprinkles.

In the end the party was a lot of fun and my daughter loved her Kermit cake.  One thing I have learned over the years of cake decorating is that you just have to be flexible and always ready with a plan B or C.  I don’t always handle these roadblocks gracefully, but I’m learning!

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on May 10, 2012, in baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Loved your bakes, they looked so beautiful! =)

Leave a Reply

