Lessons from Lazarus

Chapter 8 of Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World is quite long, which is one reason it took me two weeks to get through it.  I am so slow when it comes to reading this type of book, but I am not giving up.  This chapter is called “Lessons from Lazarus” and is all about God’s timing.  Everyone thought that Jesus would heal Lazarus when he heard about his illness, but the plot thickens when Lazarus actually dies.

I am sure we can all relate to this moment.  We know what we want and when we want it, but God does not work on our schedule.  It’s discouraging when you think that God hasn’t answered your prayers and things just aren’t going the way you think they should.  I can relate to this feeling because I like to plan things.  I like to be organized and in control of things as much as possible.  When things don’t go according to my plans I get very frustrated and sometimes discouraged.

Of course the story of Lazarus has a happy ending and I believe mine will too.  The best part of this chapter is the reminder that Jesus understands what we are going through.  He can relate to our pain and frustration.  The famous verse, “Jesus wept” comes from this story.  Jesus wept and he knew the ending already.  He cares enough for us that he cries for our sorrows.  We are so blessed to have a Savior who understands.  All we have to do is trust and have faith that he knows the ending and it is a happy one.

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on March 20, 2012, in Book Club and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love this…that Jesus wept even though HE knew what that the ending would be happy! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

