Getting Back on Track

I am two weeks behind on my Mary and Martha reading.  I did finish The Hunger Games trilogy and really enjoyed all three books.  I love reading a series all the way through without having to stop and wait for the next book to be published.  I did the same thing with the Harry Potter series.  I started reading the books after they were all published, so I could read straight through.  I definitely get addicted to books like that and once I start I don’t stop for anything!

Non-Fiction is a lot harder for me to read but I am going to try and get back on track with Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World.  The chapter for this week is called Kitchen Service and it is quite long.  This chapter makes me think of the song “They’ll know we are Christians by our love”.  Weaver offers a lot of examples of Christian service and stories of people serving God in their own way.  She also talks about the excuses we make to avoid service opportunities that come our way.  She quotes a passage from a book called Love Adds a Little Chocolate by Linda Andersen.

“Duty can pack an adequate sack lunch, but love may decide to enclose a little love note inside… Obligation sends the children to be on time, but love tucks the covers in around their neks and passes out kisses and hugs (even to teenagers!) … Duty gets offended quickly if it isn’t appreciated, but love learns to laugh a lot and to work for the sheer joy of doing it.  Obligation can pour a glass of milk, but quite often, love adds a little chocolate.”

This passage alone makes this chapter worth reading.  I hope it is encouraging to other moms as well.  We can be in service just by the way that we take care of our families as long as we are doing it with love.  I just have to remember this while washing dishes and folding laundry each week.  I think I need to check out Linda Andersen’s book as well.

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on February 24, 2012, in Book Club, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That is an excellent quote! I think I need to hang it in my kitchen and keep it in mind when working through the often-monotonous tasks that come with raising 5 children! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I love that quote! I may need to pick up a copy of this book myself! However, I’m like you in that non-fiction is much more difficult to pick up. Wish that weren’t the case!

Leave a Reply

