Quiet Time

Chapter five of Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World discusses ways people try to find intimacy with God as well as ways to avoid intimacy with God.  Weaver also brings up the idea of a “God-shaped hole”.  This is Christian lingo for the emptiness we feel when we don’t have God in our lives or when we try to substitute something else in His place.

One of my favorite things about this chapter is that Weaver gives practical applications for the ideas she is presenting.  I am not normally a fan of “Christian living” type books because I am left wondering, “now what?”  There is so much information, but not a lot of practical teaching on how to apply it to your life.  If I remember correctly from my first read of this book, Weaver has ideas like this throughout the book.  This week’s application is for spending quiet time with God.  She suggests having an area in your house dedicate to this time, but this is not practical for everyone so she offers alternatives.  My favorite is the suggestion to make a basket with a Bible, a devotional, and some note cards.  You can stash this anywhere and pull it out for some quiet time.  I like it because it is small and portable.  It doesn’t limit you to one place in your house.  I also love the idea of including note cards.  What a blessing it would be to receive a note from a friend who is praying for you.  And we are talking about real mail, not e-mail!  There is something special about a hand-written note, but that seems to be a dying art.

I would like to challenge all of my readers out there.  If God puts someone on your heart this week, send them a note saying that you are praying for them.

There is a ton of good information in this chapter, but I don’t want this to turn into a summary of the book.  I focused on one small point that I enjoyed.  If anyone else out there is reading with me, I would love to hear what you took from this chapter.  If you aren’t reading this book, you can let me know if you are taking the challenge to send someone a note or if you have a tip on how you make time for God despite your busy schedule.  In other words, I want to hear from you! 🙂

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on February 3, 2012, in Book Club and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I will send a note today!

  2. I knew you would take the challenge! 🙂

  3. http://mensengagementrings.ca

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I am inspired! Very helpful information specially the ultimate phase 🙂 I handle such info much. I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thanks and good luck.

Leave a Reply

