Why I love the Super Bowl

I am not a football fan and I don’t think I have ever watched a Super Bowl.  However, it seems that this year the Patriots are going to be playing in the Super Bowl and a whole lot of people have been visiting my blog looking for cake decorating ideas.  So, I would like to thank the Super Bowl and the Patriots for the extra blog traffic.  Last year I posted about cakes I made for my friend’s wedding rehearsal dinner, which included a football cake and cupcakes representing the Colts and the Patriots.  I included pictures, but not much “how-to” information, so I thought I would revisit that post and help out all the football fans out there.

For the football cake I used the Wilton Wonder Mold pan.  The cake comes out looking like a volcano.  I normally stick a doll in it and decorate it like a princess.  Can you tell I only have daughters?  For the football, I cut the “volcano” in half.  Imagine cutting straight down the middle starting where the lava would come out!  Then I laid the tall pieces down flat on the board and pushed the fat ends together.  If the two halves are not exactly symmetrical, than a little extra carving is required.  Once I was happy with my football shape I used a star tip to put on the brown frosting as well as the white stripes.  I used this tip for a textured look, but smooth frosting would probably work just as well.  Then I used a fat writing tip to pipe the white laces.  The “stars” are fairly tall, so the lacing may take several layers to stand out properly.

The cupcakes were a little more time consuming.  I made the logos a day in advance to allow time for drying.  First, I found the team logos online.  I copied them into Word, adjusted the size and printed them.  I put the printed logo under waxed paper and traced the design with royal icing.  I use Wilton’s meringue powder and follow the recipe on the can to make the icing.  I have not had luck with color flow, so I use my pastry bag to pipe all of the icing and then I go back over the design with a wet paint brush to smooth the icing.  I always make more designs than I will need to allow for breakage.  On game day, bake and frost your cupcakes, and carefully peel the logos off of the waxed paper to transfer them to the cupcakes.  The easiest way to do this is to pull the paper down off the edge of a table and the logo should pop right off.  I wish I had a picture of this process, but I never thought I would be writing a tutorial like this.  Next time I do this I will take pictures.  I promise. 🙂

I hope this is helpful to all those football fans out there.  Enjoy the game and your festive cakes!

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on January 31, 2012, in baking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

