What Your TV is Telling You

I have always been interested in commercials.  Well, not the commercials themselves, but their strategic placement on television.   The type of show you watch and the time of day you watch TV determines the type of commercial you will have to endure.  If you watch shows geared towards children you will get to see the hottest toy/doll/action figure on the market.  Daytime television offers a wide variety of career and parenting advice and don’t even get me started on the sports channels.  Yuck!

Yesterday, Monday, I was watching TV in the middle of the day and a couple of commercials caught my eye.  They were back to back commercials geared towards parents.  No surprise there.  The first was for diapers that you slip on like underwear, but this was not a commercial for Pull-Ups.  These diapers are not meant for children who are potty training.  These diapers were advertised for “squirmy babies” or babies that would rather be playing and crawling away than having their diaper changed.  Next up: PediaSure.  I have used a similar product with my kids when they were sick or we feared they might be dehydrated.  But this is not what the commercial was telling me about.  Apparently, PediaSure is great for picky eaters.  If your child refuses to eat healthy food, then you give them this tasty drink.  No more fighting!  No more worrying!  Your child will grow up healthy and strong!

What is wrong with this picture?  What happened to parents being in control of their children?  Of course babies are squirmy and don’t like to hold still for a diaper change!  I also realize that a lot of kids tend to be resistant to healthy or new foods.  I really don’t think this is an exaggeration, so stay with me here.  If we teach a baby/toddler to hold still through a diaper change, which honestly isn’t all that long, then maybe we can also teach them to eat their vegetables.  My poor kids had to do these things.  I also make them clean up their own messes and do their homework when they get home from school before watching TV.  Actually, most weekdays they don’t watch TV at all.  *Gasp*  I know, I might be asking too much.  I might be a “tiger mom”, but it’s time that parents take back the control of the family.  Are you with me?

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on January 10, 2012, in parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Oh, I am so with you. I was the original “mean” Mom……at least that is what I was told. Hold on to those parenting principals that you have and you will continue to raise awesome kids. I know that I did.

Leave a Reply

