Something to Blog About

I decided to add a new category to my blog for 2012.  Until recently I belonged to a small book club.  We met about once a month and talked about books and our families.  I really enjoyed the variety of books that we read as well as the time to get out of the house and have adult conversation.  Unfortunately, our group has stopped meeting.   As our kids are getting older and more involved in activities we are finding it difficult to schedule meetings.  I am not sure when our last meeting was.  Last summer maybe?  I do hope our group is able to start meeting again, but for now I will blog about the books I am reading.  I would love to hear from people reading the same books, so please leave comments.

I just finished reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows.  The story focuses on a young, war-time, author who interviews members of a book club that  formed as a cover story for a group that was caught meeting after curfew.  She begins to form relationships with the people in the group and eventually makes her way to Guernsey to meet with them face to face.  I heard that this was a popular book club pick, so I am curious to hear from people who read it as a group.  This is a fast and easy read with an entertaining plot.  However, I did find it fairly predictable and I am not sure it could be discussed at great length.  It reminded me of the novel Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn.  Both are epistolary novels and deal with some heavy topics in a fairly lighthearted way.  I will admit, however,  that Dunn’s novel is much more difficult to get through.  He deals with the topic of censorship and totalitarianism as actual letters of the alphabet begin to disappear from the book.  It makes for some challenging reading, but it is a fun and unique novel.

Next up: Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World by Joanna Weaver.  I read this book about six years ago, but I am ready to read it again.  It’s a devotional based on the story of Mary and Martha and how they responded to Jesus when he visited them in their home. (Luke 10: 38-42)  I plan to read the first chapter this week.  Feel free to join me!

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on January 4, 2012, in Book Club and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Tanya,
    This is a great addition to your blog. I am about 1/4 way through the book “The Guernesey Literary and Potato Peel Pie” book. I am enjoying getting to know all the characters. Hopefully Kris and Paula will join me in reading it also.
    Hugs

  2. I knew you were reading it, so I didn’t give much plot detail. Let me know what you think when you are done!

Leave a Reply

