iphone cake

One of my friends turned 30 over the weekend and I knew she would appreciate a fancy cake, so I decided on the iphone cake.  She is kind of in love with her iphone and I knew I would have fun making the icons on the screen.  It was a great way to add personal touches.  I made the calender icon with her birthday and made up some of my own apps.  I had one to represent her puppy, and one for her dance team.  I even made one for her red bull!

I made a sheet cake and frosted it black.  The silver edging was made with gum paste.  I colored it gray and then cut the strips.  To make it look silver I painted it with the silver powder stuff from Michaels.  I put the strips on before they dried completely, so they would form to the cake.  All of the icons were piped the night before with royal icing.  They were so detailed and time consuming I decided to make only one of each and pray that they didn’t break the next morning when I pulled them off of the wax paper.  My prayers were answered!

My favorite thing about this cake was how much my friend loved it.  She knows enough about baking to appreciate the time that went into making it.  And it was just a fun surprise!  We took pictures of her talking on the cake and checking her e-mail on the cake.  Then we actually cut it up and ate it.  She wanted to keep it forever, but it was chocolate and smelled so good we had to eat it.

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on November 22, 2011, in baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

