Puppy Birthday Cake

I had a lot of fun this weekend making a birthday cake for a puppy’s first birthday.  I normally make cakes for people who are looking for something very specific, but this time I got to come up with my own ideas.  I decided to make a dog dish out of a two layer round cake.  I covered the whole cake in marshmallow fondant and then cut a hole in the middle of the fondant on top.  After cutting away the fondant I added a layer of frosting and malt balls to look like dog food.  I used a different color fondant to cut out the letters in the dog’s name and attached them with royal icing.  For the cupcakes, I piped the paw prints with royal icing on waxed paper and added them the next morning.  I had a lot of fun making this cake and I love the way everything turned out.  Happy first birthday Truffles!

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on October 23, 2011, in baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I had to click on the picture to get a better look – okay, you are amazing! That is one lucky dog!!

Leave a Reply

