Gifted and Talented Education

“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”

This Albert Einstein quote was spread all over facebook last week and it caught my attention.  It’s a great quote, but what caught my eye is that this is truly the philosophy being used at my girls’ elementary school.  I have always been in favor of public education, but my oldest daughter’s kindergarten experience made me start to doubt that we had made the right choice.  After homeschooling for almost two years we decided to take another look at the public schools in our area.  We were incredibly blessed to find one, not far from our home, that seemed to have everything we were looking for.  We took a leap of faith and signed up both girls.

We have been with this school for a month and a half and I am so excited by everything I see happening there.  The philosophy is that all kids are gifted and talented.  Don’t we as parents feel that way already?  We all believe that our child is special and we are right.  The school’s job is to find those gifts and talents and teach the kids how to make the most of them.  The amazing thing is that our school is actually doing that!  The kids are evaluated on so much more than Math and Reading.  The teachers know who loves computers, who is a great artist and who likes to perform.  They have also assessed learning styles including who likes to work in a group and who works better alone.

I am so excited about the way this school is reaching out to each student.  I think they are making a difference for these kids and hopefully are reducing the number of fish attempting to climb trees.

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on October 12, 2011, in education and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That is wonderful to hear! It’s just such an atmosphere that I fantasized about when wanting to become a teacher myself!

Leave a Reply

