Baby Shower Cakes

Teddy bears are a popular baby shower theme.  I made these blue and pink ones for a friend who was expecting boy girl twins.  They are laying in coconut dyed with food coloring.  My mom helped with the piping on one of these cakes, but I don’t remember which one!  The cake on the right is one I made for another girl baby shower.  I really like the way the colors turned out on the last one.  I made it a few years after the twin cakes and I think it shows some improvement!

More recently, I made an airplane for a boy baby shower.  This was an early attempt at fondant.  I still have a lot to learn, but I am having fun experimenting with it.  I almost always make my own marshmallow fondant, which is very elastic and forgiving, but it can be hard to color.  It takes a lot of time and muscle power to knead the color into the fondant.  I had hoped this airplane would have bolder colors, but this was all I could manage.  The propeller was carved out of a stick of gum. 🙂

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on August 17, 2011, in baking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

