Rapunzel Cake

This is one of my favorite cakes because I had the chance to play around with all sorts of new techniques.  I started by making the tower of rice krispie treats.  I just used the recipe from the box and shaped the tower pieces once the cereal was cool enough to hold the shape.  I also made the Rapunzel figure out of gum paste a couple of days before the party.  I wanted her to be completely dry before I stuck her in the cake.

The night before the party, I made the actual cakes.  This was my first time stacking more than two cakes and I definitely learned to be more precise in my leveling next time.  The cakes did lean slightly, but I wasn’t going to start over!  The braid is made from fondant that I bought and colored.  That was very challenging because the fondant was drying and cracking while I was working with it.  Lots of extra Crisco went into this part of the project!

I also assembled the tower the night before.  I covered the pieces with fondant and put them together on a wooden dowel.  I should have used a much longer dowel for stability.  Another lesson learned!  Rapunzel was built around a toothpick, which held nicely in the tower.  The hair went on last and I was super happy with the way it came out.  I let this contraption dry over night in my coffee pot.  This was my husband’s genius idea and it worked perfectly.

We transported the cake to the party in two pieces.  We attempted to assemble it once we got there, but we planned the party at a park on top of a hill on the windiest day of the year.  There was no way this tower would stand on the cake and not be blown over.  Pretty much everything that was not secured with copious amounts of duct tape was blown all over the park.  I was seriously disappointed, but for the sake of a good picture we set everything up and told my five-year old to hold on tight and smile.  If you look closely, you can see that her braid is sticking out to the side and the trees in the background are bending over from the force of the wind.

Isn’t she cute?

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on August 12, 2011, in baking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a lovely cake! How do you make the rice krispies stick together by the way?

    • Thank you so much! I make rice krispie treats with the recipe on the box. You melt marshmallows and some butter, then add the cereal. It’s a big sticky mess at first, but as it cools you can mold it into the shape you want. I hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

