Bridal Shower and Football Cakes

When my best friend announced her engagement I was excited to give her a bridal shower just as she had done for me.  Of course the first thing that comes to mind for me when throwing a party is cake.  I would say this shower and cake were pretty traditional.  I took advantage of the season and used fall colors for the cakes, decorations and paper goods.

When it came time for the rehearsal dinner we had a lot of fun with the cakes.  The bride and groom are big football fans, so a football cake seemed appropriate.  I used the cake pan that I normally use to make princess cakes and after some major reconstruction surgery it became a football.

I was fairly happy with the football, but the real conversation piece was the cupcake tree.  Since my friend and her husband route for different teams, we incorporated the rivalry into the cupcakes.  Half the cupcakes were decorate for the Colts and half for the Patriots.  I made the logos out of royal icing and let them dry on wax paper over night.  When it was time to transfer them onto the cupcakes I held my breath and prayed that at least twelve of each logo would remain in tact as I transferred them.  I was thrilled with the way they turned out and they were a big hit with the dinner guests.

 

 

 

 

*Update: For more how-to info on these cakes check out my latest football cake post. 🙂

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on August 3, 2011, in baking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

