Butterfly Cakes

My first butterfly cake was for my grandma’s 96th birthday.  This was the first time that I cut a cake to make its shape rather than using a shaped pan.  I made a two layer round cake, cut the pieces and then rearranged them to look like a butterfly.  The hardest part, aside from making the first cut, was frosting it because there were so many crumbly edges.  The best part is going to the candy store and picking out the pretty candy stick for the body.  And of course eating it!

 

My second butterfly cake was for a baby shower.  It was so much easier the second time and I made some cute flower cupcakes to go with it.  I also made a diaper cake, but I guess that shouldn’t really be part of the baking blog.

 

 

My third butterfly cake was for Emma’s 7th birthday.  For some reason I cut the pieces the wrong way, which is why it looks different from the others.  I was not pleased when I realized what I had done, but now that I look at it compared with the others I actually kind of like it.  We also put together cute butterfly snack made from a plastic baggie of goodies for the wings, a clothes pin body and pipe cleaner antennae.  These were a big hit.   I had to repeat the snack later for Morgan’s preschool class.

 

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on July 16, 2011, in baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

