More birthday Cakes

For Emma’s 2nd birthday we had an Elmo themed party.  That’s her cake in the top left corner of the photo.  This was probably one of the easiest cakes I have made because there is a pan designed specifically for Elmo.  The hard part was making the frosting red.  This may be my only cake that has genuine red frosting.  It just takes way too much food coloring.  For her gift she got to go to Build-A-Bear and make her very own Elmo doll.  It was a fun experience and when she hugs him he says, “Elmo loves you!”

The cutie in the top right corner of the picture is Morgan.  She is my little monkey, so she had a monkey party when she turned two.  The monkey face was made from a bear shaped cake pan.  I baked the cake, then cut the ears off of the top and moved them to the side.  The hard part was adding the details to the face.  I had to ignore the bear indentations from the pan and draw my own monkey details.  The bananas were cut from a round cake and I just piped the details on top.  She also got a trip to Build-A-Bear and made a monkey that says, “Ooh, ooh, ah, ah”

I’m still waiting to hear your birthday traditions… 🙂

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on July 13, 2011, in baking, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

