Movie Night

The girls and I decided to have a girls only movie night tonight.  We popped some popcorn on the stove, which was exciting.  Luckily I had a large pot because apparently 1/2 cup of kernels makes a lot of popcorn!  It started popping so I was holding the lid while shaking the pot.  That’s when I started to feel the pressure on the lid.  I was getting nervous, so I took the pot off the heat and slowly lifted the lid.  The girls were very impressed!  We ended up with a perfectly popped pot of popcorn.  How’s that for alliteration?  We each grabbed a bowl: one plain butter, one butter and salt and one butter and cinnamon sugar.

 

Our chick flick for the night… Lemonade Mouth.  I don’t know if it actually qualifies as a chick flick, but it’s what the kids are into right now.  They are learning a clogging routine right now that goes with the last song of the movie.  So, we watched the movie, ate our delicious snack, danced the dance and it’s time for bed.  I would say that our first official movie night was a success.  I promised them that we would make it a once a month event.  I am looking forward to it!

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on July 9, 2011, in parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Sounds like you narrowly avoided an I Love Lucy type situation. Good work!

    • I was thinking the same thing! Can you imagine the girls’ faces if the popcorn had actually started bursting out of the pot?

  2. I’m a girl! Invite me:)

Leave a Reply

