Girl Power

        

In preparation for my daughter’s first slumber party I decided to teach her how to make friendship bracelets.  This is a tradition that has stood the test of time.  Something I used to do as a kid is still cool with kids today!  Thanks to Pinterest, I decided to try and make a heart pattern.  It took me forever to learn the pattern, but I finally got the hang of it.  My daughter, who is almost nine, had a really hard time with it.  I would say this is for experienced bracelet makers only.

 

 

Once I realized that the heart pattern was too difficult for my daughter I had her make a simple striped bracelet instead.  She quickly caught on and started seeing how making bracelets was actually fun. She was so inspired that she actually attempted the heart pattern later.  It sits unfinished on my table.

           

My six year old decided to give it a try.  She made a striped bracelet and I gave her my finished heart bracelet.  It was a lot of fun to pass on this tradition to the girls.  We went to the craft store this morning to pick out some new colors of floss for the slumber party.  I can’t wait to see what they make and learn some new patterns from my daughter’s friends.

If you are interested in the heart pattern, here is a link to the instructions.  The video helped me a lot! Good luck.

About Tanya

I am a stay at home mom of two little girls. I used to homeschool, but now both girls are in public school. I love to bake and create fancy cakes. Read more about my life at http://www.sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com and see our latest family blog http://www.legobible.wordpress.com

Posted on August 22, 2012, in parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 363 other followers

